Do Not Get Fooled by the Circuit City Going Out of Business Sale

So I’ve seen the commercials on TV, Circuit City is (finally) going out of business! So I thought I would take advantage of it and while doing errands today thought I’d stop by the one nearest to me. I had a few items in mind, not that I can afford it but I have been looking to get a flat-screen TV, I do need a new wireless router and few other items. I looked at the flat-screens and found a LG model that seemed like a good price. I thought I’d check the price on Amazon.com using the application on my iPhone… to my surprise it was cheaper on Amazon! Then I looked at the Linksys router and I found the same thing and the same goes for the other items I looked at. I even told some of the customers that were looking at the same type of items as I was that they could find it cheaper online.

So, I’m not a big time business guy, but it stands to reason that if you are trying to unload inventory, wouldn’t you sell it at a huge discount? It seems Circuit City is marking all of their items at the original retail price (or more) and then applying the discount to that, which is still more than what you can purchase it from on Amazon (which includes free shipping over a certian purchase total). It’s no wonder why this company is going out of business… it never kept up with compitition. So for one last screw over on the average consumer, now they are predending they are giving them a deal! (this of course does not apply to out-of-the-box prices)

I’m glad to see Circuit City go… the faster the better! I just feel bad that thousands of people that didn’t deserve it will loose their job due to exceutives that can’t get their greedy heads out of their butts.

Your thoughts?

Followup:
I sent this to KGTV Channel 10 here in San Diego and they are doing a story on it on 2/12/09 at 11pm. Tune in and see what they say!

Leave a Reply

