Require FXCop Report Before Taking Job?

In July I took a contract job that has turned into the project from hell. I am literally stuck bug fixing the worst web site project I have ever seen. I was originally hired to re-architect this site to .NET 2.0 but that has since been shelved, so I am leaving this contract next week.

Today I decided to run FXCop on the web project. I got a whopping 6,504 errors, with the majority being in the breaking category. I have never seen this many errors in a single assembly. The most I have seen is around 300.

So I pondered a thought that maybe before I take my next job, where in the interview everyone says what a great development project and department I will be working in, I should require to see their FXCop report on their wonderful project?

Leave a Reply

